Status

Review Formats & Blog Update

I’m back…

As you may have noticed, I’ve tweaked my book review formats recently.

For graphic novels, reviews no longer use cut text. You came here for my opinion, so I’m not going to make you click to get to it. With that last image to keep things visually interesting, I’m hoping it won’t be too much text to deal with.
Now | Previous

For books, reviews are now much shorter. I’m aiming for two paragraphs, short and to the point, but still with both positives and any negatives I may have. I’m moving this outside of the cut as well, since it’s short. But since I don’t have artwork (like with comics), I’m a little worried about it being too much text at a time. Similar read recommendations will remain under the cut.
Now | Previous

My hope is that these minor changes will make Come Hither Books more useful when scrolling, and showcase what you came here to read instead of hiding it away.

But the changes also serve a selfish motive: I do a lot of reviews and book talks for the library, and am starting to write for library blogs as well. (This also has a lot to do with why I’ve been slacking here recently. I’ll be sharing some of the projects I’ve been working on here soon.) By aligning formats and shortening reviews, I can use information in both places without having to constantly rewrite my reviews.

What do you guys think of the changes?

I’m aiming for a compromise between giving you the depth of information you’ve come to expect and finding a format I can maintain with work and family commitments. I still love discussion, so if you miss the longer reactions, ask questions and I’d chat more with you.

What do you look for in a review?

What do you prioritize in your reviews? For bloggers, how did you decide on your format (if you have a standard structure)? For readers, what do you look for first? Are there any parts you skip over?

2 thoughts on “Review Formats & Blog Update

  1. I like the new shorter format. I’ve been thinking of making my own reviews shorter as well, but so far I seem incapable of doing so.
    When reading review I usually read a small part of the synopsis and then move on to the review. I hate it when there’s spoilers that weren’t announced. Also, I enjoy reviews more when they say a bit about the characters, the plot and the writing style. Just a “OMG I LOVE this book” annoys me.
    Just my two cents 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, I’m glad you like it.

      I skip the synopsis altogether and just read the review. You can tell genre from the cover well enough, and a lot of the time I’ve at least heard of it before. If the review makes me interested, I’ll sometimes go back and read the synopsis when I’m deciding whether to add it to my to-reads. (Though more often I follow the link to Goodreads and see if anyone I know has read it and what they thought.)

      Something substantial about why they like it is a must. For me, the thing to avoid is reviews with a ton of gifs – just annoys the heck out of me, and makes my brain hurt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

