Status

Top Ten 2015 Fall Releases

Top Ten 2015 Fall Releases

Thorn of Emberlain by Scott LynchThe Thorn of Emberlain, Scott Lynch
Release Date: September 17, 2015
Genre: Epic Fantasy
Series: Gentleman Bastard #4
Why: I adore Locke Lamora, and Lynch improves his skills with every book. There’s absolutely no way I won’t be reading this within a week of its release date.

Saga volume 5 by Brian K. VaughanSaga, Volume 5, Brian K. Vaughan
Release Date: October 6, 2015
Genre: Graphic novel, science fiction, fantasy
Series: Saga
Why: After binge reading the first four volumes, now I have to wait like everyone else. Every volume of Saga surprises me with its creativity and characterization.

The Drafter by Kim HarrisonThe Drafter, Kim Harrison
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Genre: Futuristic thriller, science fiction
Series: Peri Reed Chronicles #1
Why: Over the course of the Hollows series, Kim Harrison went from a decent writer to an excellent one, and I want to see her start a series already on the next plateau. With her mentions of a more mature, less boy-crazy lead and a new genre that I’m not already burned out on (sorry, urban fantasy), I can’t wait.

The Fifth Season by N.K. JemisinThe Fifth Season, N.K. Jemisin
Release Date: August 4, 2015
Genre: Epic Fantasy, Dystopian
Series: The Broken Stone #1
Why: I’ve heard lots of good things about N.K. Jemison but haven’t read her yet. The Fifth Season gives me a chance to jump in on a new series instead of starting out way behind. Also, I’d like to see what sounds like a post-apocalyptic premise play out in a purely fantasy setting.

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor HermanLegacy of Kings, Eleanor Herman
Release Date: August 25, 2015
Genre: Fantasy, Military, Historical, YA
Series: Blood of Gods and Royals #1
Why: Alexander the Great! In a fantasy world! I’m a sucker for all things greek/roman, and Alexander the Great isn’t done as often. Of course it made on my list.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky ChambersThe Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, Becky Chambers
Release Date: August 13, 2015
Genre: Science fiction, space opera
Series: Standalone
Why: A Firefly-flavored science fiction space adventure with diverse characters? Yes, please. This was on my list earlier but I couldn’t get a hold of it. Now, it’s about to be rereleased by a new publisher.

Court of Fives by Kate ElliottCourt of Fives, Kate Elliot
Release Date: August 18, 2015
Genre: Epic Fantasy, Young Adult
Series: Court of Fives #1
Why: Court of Fives is inspired by Ptolomeic Egypt and real female pharaohs like Cleopatra. Like Legacy of Kings, it’s an easy add for its less frequently done side of Greek/Roman history, mixed with fantasy. It’s an August release, but counts as a summer read because I have the eARC.

Last Song Before Night by Ilana C. MyerLast Song Before Night, Ilana C. Myer
Release Date: September 2015
Genre: Epic Fantasy
Series: Standalone
Why: Not much info yet, but early reviews suggest this one will be a lyrical fantasy with gorgeous prose and a music based magic system. That’s enough to make me interested.

Soundless by Richelle MeadSoundless, Richelle Mead
Release Date: November 10, 2015
Genre: Fantasy, Chinese folklore, YA
Series: Standalone
Why: Soundless has a story based on Chinese folklore, and characters who hear nothing but learn to use sound as their weapon. I haven’t read Richelle Mead before because YA urban fantasy does not often appeal to me, but this one sounds much more interesting to me.

Woman with a Blue Pencil, Gordon McAlpine
Release Date: November 10, 2015
Genre: Metafiction, Noir historical mystery
Series: Standalone
Why: The plot, omg! It’s ambitious, but if they pull it off it’ll be amazing. On the eve of Pearl Harbor, a Japanese-American academic tries to solve the mystery of his wife’s disappearance even as his existence is being systematically erased. Meanwhile, the author faces demands to make his leading character more marketable, even as he and his family are relocated to a Japanese interment camp. Above them both, the New York book editor who serves as inspiration and torment: the woman with the blue pencil. (No cover yet, sorry.)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For the Rest of 2015. Since next week’s topic is my summer read list, I’ve restricted this week’s list to August or later. July’s releases will be considered for the summer to-read list.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten 2015 Fall Releases

  1. thereviewdiaries says:

    I love your choices! ‘Legacy of Kings’ is on my list this week too, and I’ve just added ‘Court of Fives’ to my wishlist after seeing this. Thanks for getting it on my radar!
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

