An Interview with Come Hither Books

Liebster AwardI was nominated for the Liebster Award by Summer.
Thanks, Summer!

As part of the Liebster process, I was given a list of questions to answer. I’ve turned them into an Q & A to tell you all a little more about myself. Enjoy!

Question and Answer

How has your day been?
Today was the first spring day warm enough to sit out in the park and read in the afternoon sun. I started a book I’ve been looking forward to for months, from an author I’ve always enjoyed. The grass is still greyish brown and it didn’t stay warm enough to last until the sun set over the mountains, but that will come. Life is good.

How did you start blogging? What inspired you?
I was active in fandom communities in the past, and I miss the community and friendships of an online community. I’ve spent my working life in bookstores and libraries, my online life in book fandoms, and my spare time writing. Books are where all my interests meet. A review blog feels like the next logical step.

What is your all-time-favorite book?
The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss. The writing is beautiful, and I love the sense of both music and oral story-telling in his prose. Rothfuss breaks all rules of structure and convention, and gives us something that works anyway. I can read Name of the Wind for character, for story, for poetry, or for analysis, and love it every time.

Tea or coffee?
Hot tea or homemade fruit smoothies, depending on the season.

What is your favorite song?
I listen to audio books when driving. I keep the Dr. Horrible soundtrack and Depeche Mode in my car for between books. In the evenings, my husband and I often listen to records while we read. Pink Floyd, Beatles, Marvin Gaye, Metallica, Nine Inch Nails, whatever. The Guardians of the Galaxy soundtrack has been a recent favorite.

Have you read/seen Harry Potter? If so, what is your patronus?
Kimberly in Ravenclaw gearYES. And I’ve got the house pride gear to prove it. (That’s me manning the kid’s department in Ravenclaw librarian gear last year for Halloween.) I was Ravenclaw moderator for a large sorting community for several years.

My patronus would be a snake, I think, because when I need inner strength I deliberately draw on the Slytherin half of my personality.

There is going to be a zombie unicorn apocalypse. What is your weapon and how would you use it?
I’d go with a katana like Michonne. I’d prefer something quiet over a gun. It’s got a longer reach than most handheld weapons, and I’d like a smooth motion and clean slice more than a blunt force blow. I’d learn to wield it with grace and precision, but it would be just as deadly while I figured it out.

The Liebster Award

The Liebster Award is a chain award created by bloggers as a way to make friends in the blogging community. There are several versions of it floating around. I combined a few.

How the Liebster Award works:
* Thank and link the person who nominated you.
* Answer questions given by the nominator.
* Nominate 5-11 bloggers with less than 500 followers. Notify them.
* Create new questions for the nominees.

I recommend these great book or genre blogs

Eliza @ The Bookish Universe | Great reviews in many genres + interesting discussions
Andrew & John @ Deja Revue | A great comics resource, which is so hard to find
Nori @ Readwritelove28 | Helpful reviews + cool blog features
Ana @ Ana’s Lair | A brand new blog with detailed, informative reviews
Stefan @ Far Beyond Reality | Science fiction & fantasy news and reviews
Jessica @ Nerd Academy | A nerd lifestyle blog, taking on must-know books & movies

I’m nominating all of these great blogs for the Liebster Award. They’re all worth a look, so go say hi!

Nominees, accept the award and continue the chain if you’d like. Or simply enjoy it as a token of appreciation for your hard work and wonderful blogs. You can answer as many or as few of my questions as you’d like.

My interview questions

* What book do you treasure most from your younger years?
* What is your favorite genre and why?
* What literary world means the most to you?
* What is your favorite book-based movie?
* What is the last book you read that you absolutely loved?
* How do you choose what to read next?
* You can redeem a magic token for one fictional object, and the ability to use it. What object do you choose?

The questions are open to all. If they inspire you, share.

6 thoughts on “An Interview with Come Hither Books

  1. Oh my gosh, loved the outfit! I’m a potterhead, but I don’t have anything HP related other than the books (and Hermione’s wand). I need to invest in some Gryffindor wear. And I must read The Name of the Wind this year. I’m so glad you did this, thanks for answering the questions! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

