Status

My Top 5 Literary Couples

My answer to the 2015 Love Fest Question of the Day
Who is your favorite literary couple?

My Top 5 Literary Couples

  1. Rachel/Kisten & Rachel/Ivy & Rachel/Trent – The Hollows, Kim Harrison
  2. Amaranthe/Sicarius – The Emperor’s Edge series, Lindsay Buroker
  3. Trevor/Zach – Drawing Blood, Poppy Z. Brite
  4. Vin/Elend – The Mistborn Trilogy, Brandon Sanderson
  5. Finnikin/Isaboe – The Lumatere Chronicles, Melina Marchetta

  • Rachel/Kisten & Rachel/Ivy & Rachel/Trent – The Hollows, Kim Harrison
  • Kim Harrison takes the top spot because she made me believe and root for not one, but THREE happily ever afters over the course of the series! I rarely ship characters, and to manage it more than once is unheard of. I fell in love with Kisten right along with Rachel, and never thought I’d be happy with her paired with anyone else. Then the relationship with Ivy progressed, and I adore a love that develops naturally out of friendship. I wanted desperately for them to find a blood balance and a way to be happy. What I love most about the Hollows series is the character arcs over time. By the end of the series, getting Rachel and Trent together felt like the pinnacle of the series. So I truly believe in all three of these pairings, at different points of the series, and I still love them all.

    If I have to choose only one, I’ll go with Rachel and Trent, because they’re perfect for each other when they’ve both grown into the people they needed to be. I love Kisten and Ivy both, but I didn’t love Rachel yet at the point she was with them. With Trent, they’ve learned to accept themselves, and each other.

  • Amaranthe/Sicarius – The Emperor’s Edge series, Lindsay Buroker
  • Amaranthe is the kind of smart, funny, capable heroine I adore, and sees past Sicarius’ intimidating facade. I love characters who are cold and calculating on the outside, but have all sorts of interesting layers on the inside. And I love watching someone break down those barriers and make them open up. Perfection.

  • Trevor/Zach – Drawing Blood, Poppy Z. Brite
  • I discovered Drawing Blood at a very dark point of my life, and watching a broken character find love even in the middle of his own dark abyss meant the world to me. I love everything about both characters (though Trevor is the one I identify with more), and I love watching them find each other. I’ve reread this book at least a dozen times.

  • Vin/Elend – The Mistborn Trilogy, Brandon Sanderson
  • What I love about Vin and Elend’s relationship is how much they help each other become better people. They see the best in each other, and they help the other person see it too. We watch them come into their own, maturing from foolish kids into strong adults. Vin goes from a damaged street urchin to a powerful warrior; Elend goes from a idealistic but naive intellectual to a wise leader who is willing to put the good of his people above his own interests. It’s what I think a relationship should be: a partnership between equals, full of love and support, but that lets them both be themselves and be strong in their own way.

  • Finnikin/Isaboe – The Lumatere Chronicles, Melina Marchetta
  • I don’t know why this one gets me so much, but I love the way they fell in love, and I love the way their relationship continues to develop after their marriage. It’s a portrayal of marriage that doesn’t pretend that there’s never any problems or jealousies, but does deal with them in an honest and open way. I love seeing a healthy, long-term relationship that works.

    If you haven’t yet joined the 2015 Love Fest, I’d love to hear your answers!
    Share your favorite literary couple at today’s Love Fest post!

    Leave a Reply

    